Img 20210123 Wa0032 1 Osoba Loyalists Protest Apc Committee List

Osoba loyalists protest APC committee list

Daud Olatunji, Abeokuta

Loyalists of a former governor of Ogun State, Olusegun Osoba, have protested the alleged tampering of the harmonised committee list of the All Progressives Congress in the state.

The APC caretaker committee led by Yemi Sanusi is believed to be loyal to the incumbent state governor, Dapo Abiodun, while two other factions are believed to be loyal to both former governors Osoba and Ibikunle Amosun

The Osoba loyalists in a statement jointly signed by 40 leaders in Abeokuta, on Sunday, accused the Sanusi-led caretaker committee of ‘unjustly upturning the collective decision of the majority.’

The statement read in part, “Recall that the party state working committee had directed all local governments to have party executives in place.

“Consequently, all the local governments submitted their executives list. It is important to note that the APC in the state have become factional.

“Different lists were submitted to the party in the state in which Abeokuta South is not an exception.

“For this reason, Ogun State APC Executive Committee set up a harmonisation committee to resolve all the differences.”

“We were surprised to see that the harmonisation lists were tampered with, substituted and replaced, it was noted that some of the names that were not in the harmonised list were sworn-in. This is unacceptable and grossly unconstitutional.”


What do you think?

5.8k Points
Upvote Downvote
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments